The required course is a 16 hour Illinois Concealed Carry Course. There are credits allowed towards the 16 hours course. Below is a list of the acceptable firearm classes and their corresponding credits that will be applied towards the 16 hour CCW-IL class:
The maximum credit hours applied toward the 16-hour class is 8 hours. The last 8 hours of class is a mandatory class. Usually the 8 hours are covered during Day 2 of the 16-hour class. During this time the Illinois law about CCL is covered in detail, along with firearm handling on the range and the IL-CCW firearms qualification. The 16 Hour Class is mandatory for the CCL application.
Prior law enforcement/corrections officer firearms training as detailed in 430ilcs 66/75(J): 8 hours credit